Join us for 2019 Fishkill Polar Plunge!

polar-plunge-logoWe’ll be Freezin’ for a Reason on Saturday, Feb. 16, 2019, when CSEA joins with other supporters of Special Olympics New York in taking the Fishkill Polar Plunge. Our goal is to raise funds to enable athletes with disabilities to compete in the local events Special Olympics sponsors.

We would love to have some new members on CSEA Region 3 team! Participants can raise money and take the plunge, or fundraise but remain on shore. A minimum of $100 in fundraising is required to receive a 2019 Fishkill Polar Plunge hooded sweatshirt. Stay tuned for upcoming info on a group fundraiser.

All financial donations are welcome and appreciated! You may log onto our team page by visiting: Donations and team member enrollments can be done on the website.

Below are printable resources to help you promote the Fishkill Polar Plunge with your fellow members. Copies of these documents will be sent via regular mail to local and unit presidents.




    Sheri Farrell wins Membership Achievement Award

    From left: Statewide Treasurer Bill Walsh, Committee Chair Nancy Ianson, Ulster County Unit Secretary Sheri Farrell, and Southern Region President Billy Riccaldo.

    From left: Statewide Treasurer Bill Walsh, Committee Chair Nancy Ianson, Ulster County Unit Secretary Sheri Farrell, and Southern Region President Billy Riccaldo.

    Congratulations to Ulster County Unit Secretary Sheri Farrell, the recipient of the 2018 Membership Achievement Award, presented at this year’s Annual Delegates Meeting in New York City.

    Farrell received the honor following a campaign she planned and implemented, converting non-members in the Ulster County Unit to full CSEA membership. She even planned a mini-member engagement blitz, where unit officers and CSEA staff spent several evenings knocking on doors to reach the non-members.

    It’s that kind of drive and dedication that helps us build a stronger CSEA despite the nationwide challenges to weaken unions such as ours. Great job!

      Upcoming trainings planned in Poughkeepsie and New City


      CSEA is regularly scheduling classes to help empower and educate CSEA officers and activists.

      Listed here are upcoming trainings. You must RSVP to the Southern Region Office at (845) 831-1000 for all classes, as space is limited.




        Update on Rockland retiree health insurance

        We want to be sure retirees from the County of Rockland have the latest info on the shared services proposal that put a previously-shelved plan to switch county retirees from NYSHIP (Empire Plan) to a Managed Medicare plan from Aetna back on the table. Here is the latest update, as of Sept. 4, 2018, from Legislature Chairman Toney Earl. Please click here to view the resolution from the Legislature.

        “Dear Retiree,

        On July 27, 2018, the County Executive provided the Legislature with a draft of the Shared Services plan that included a plan to share health-insurance benefits for retirees with other municipalities. However, despite numerous requests by the Legislature to substantiate the projected savings, it became clear that these “savings” could not be justified. Furthermore, during numerous public hearings, retirees voiced their vehement opposition and concern that a possible switch from NYSHIP to a Managed Medicare Plan could leave them without the health benefits that they were entitled to by law.
        Last night, the Legislature voted unanimously to recommend the removal of the project entitled “Health Insurance-Pool for Retired Municipal Employees” from the final Shared Services Plan. The Legislature cannot give its approval to a proposed plan that will provides for phantom savings and more importantly, cannot support any plan that would in any way diminish retiree health insurance benefits.
        I have attached the resolution unanimously adopted last night for your review. Should any of you have any questions or further concerns, please feel free to contact my office at your convenience.
        Sincerely Yours,


        Hon. Toney L. Earl 
        Rockland County Legislature”

        We thank the legislators for their advocacy on behalf of our retirees.

          Fall Conference registration underway

          Education is key to a strong union. That’s why we encourage locals and units to take part in our Southern Region conferences.

          The next conference will be held this fall at Villa Roma in Callicoon, Sullivan County. Registration is now underway. Officers will be receiving hard copies of registration materials via U.S. Mail, but copies can also be downloaded by clicking here.

          Anyone needing more info should call the Southern Region Office at (845) 831-1000.

            Golf tournament planned as scholarship fundraiser

            GolfTeeOur annual Southern Region Golf Classic will take place Sept. 14, 2018 at the Osiris Golf Club in Walden, Orange County. The event serves as our major fundraiser for the scholarships we present each year to children of Southern Region members headed to college.

            Click here to download the brochure/enrollment form and welcome letter from Southern Region President Billy Riccaldo. Please feel free to share this information with friends outside of CSEA who might be interested in an affordable and fun day of golfing!

            Anyone with questions should contact our office at (845) 831-1000.

              Concert deal for Eagles tribute band and barbecue

              Putnam County Local 840 has opened up a special Member Appreciation Night to the rest of the Southern Region membership.

              On Aug. 17, there will be a barbecue and performance by an Eagles tribute band at the Putnam County Golf Course, 187 Hill Street, Mahopac. Cost is $15 for adults, $10 for children 3-12, and free for children 3 and under.

              Download the flyer for more info. Anyone with additional questions should contact Putnam County Local President Jane Meunier at (914) 204-4797.

                CSEA responds to Janus v. AFSCME Council 31 decision

                CSEA President Danny Donohue and CSEA Southern Region President Billy Riccaldo today (June 27, 2018) responded to the decision in the U.S. Supreme Court case of Janus v. AFSCME Council 31.

                To read their comments issued in a press release earlier today, please click here.

                For more info on how we’re staying union strong, please visit our CSEA Never Quit web page.



                  Great Escape Super Summer Savings


                  CSEA members get special summer savings at Great Escape — season passes, daily admission and parking.

                  Follow the link below to the CSEA Member Great Escape Six Flags discount store.  Enter the username and password below to enter the store. Use the menu button on top to navigate between different deals.

                  Username: CSEANY

                  Password: summerfun



                    Southern Region Scholarship available for graduating seniors

                    CSEA members who are the parents or guardians of graduating seniors, we have our annual Southern Region Scholarships available!

                    The scholarships are offered to seniors graduating this year and heading to college. Scholarship recipients are invited to attend a Southern Region Executive Board meeting toward the end of June, where CSEA officers will celebrate the graduates’ accomplishments.

                    Download a scholarship application by clicking here.

                    Applications must be postmarked by April 23, 2018. Check out other CSEA scholarship opportunities available by visiting the statewide CSEA Scholarships page.