CSEA Activists Honored at Labor Dinner


Kim Whitlock

Rochester—On December 8, the Rochester & Genesee Valley Area Labor Federation, AFL-CIO held it’s Annual Delegates Awards Dinner at the Rochester Riverside Convention Center. Hundreds of delegates and labor allies from an 11 county area attended the event which featured a keynote address by Pulitzer Prize winning journalist and author David Cay Johnston.

CSEA was well represented at the awards ceremony—two political action committee members received special recognition for their efforts this election cycle. Kimberly Whitlock, a Rochester State Employees Local 012 activist who works as a Worker’s Compensation Examiner, and Sean Gibbons, a Monroe County Local 828 Pure Waters Laboratory Assistant were honored for their outstanding achievement, commitment, dedication and extraordinary efforts for 2016. Western Region President Flo Tripi, who also serves as Vice President of the R&GVALF, was one of the presenters at this year’s event.

Here is a list of the 2016 honorees:

The Working Families Advocate of the Year

  • Adam Bello

The Mother Jones Award for Sacrifice Above and Beyond

  • Steve Panton, RGVALF
  • Shirley Sobczak, Workers United RRJB

Outstanding Achievement in Political Action

  • Kimberly Whitlock, CSEA
  • Sean Gibbons, CSEA
  • The Rochester, NY Building and Construction Trades Council, AFL-CIO

The Jim Schmidt Community Solidarity Award

  • CWA Local 1170

The Labor Coalition Advocate of the Year 

Workforce Development Institute

  • Bob Trouskie & Lynn Freid

The Jon Garlock Labor Educator of the Year Award

  • Mary Denise Schneider, CWA 1141

Apprentice Organizer of the Year

  • Christopher Roesch, NALC 210

Retiree of the Year

  • Betty Beverly, UAW 1097
  • Martin Horowitz, APWU Local 215

Rochester Labor Council, AFL- CIO Labor Day Parade Award

“Best Message”

  • Justice for Farm Workers

Rochester Labor Council, AFL- CIO Labor Day Parade Award

“Best Float”

  • Teamsters Local Union #118

Rochester Labor Council, AFL- CIO Labor Day Parade Award

“Most Spirited”

  • Senator Joe Robach and the Monroe County Wolverines

The Rochester Labor Council, AFL- CIO Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Denise Young, USW, PEF & Metro Justice