State Department of Transportation (DOT), Region 4 (Rochester) Local members and DOT co-workers gather in Rochester on Workers Memorial Day in front of Howe’s Plow, a snowplow named in each DOT region in memory of DOT worker Dennis “Matt” Howe

CSEA Western Region 1st Vice President Renee Jackson and State Department of Transportation (DOT), Region 4 (Rochester) Local Vice President John Sackeli pose in front of the “Howe’s Plow” designated for the DOT region.

Westchester County Local activist Karen Pecora and Westchester Retirees Local activist Elio Giuliani take part in the Workers Memorial Day vigil sponsored by the Westchester-Putnam Central Labor Body.

Westchester County Local President Hattie Adams, left, and Westchester County Unit 4th Vice President Zubaidah Jackson attend the Westchester- Putnam Central Labor Body vigil.

CSEA Central Region activists, leaders and staff joined workers and officials from the State Department of Transportation, New York State Thruway Authority and New York State Police, along with elected officials, in a Workers Memorial Day ceremony held at the NYS Highway Workers Memorial at the State Fairgrounds in Geddes. Shown in this photo are CSEA Central Region Executive Vice President Chantalise DeMarco, CSEA Political Action Coordinator Josh Schick, Central Region Director Bob Riley and OSH Specialist Joshua Kemp. Also pictured is State Assemblymember Bill Magnarelli, third from left.

Central Region Safety and Health Committee Chair Tom Hingher and Central Region President Kenny Greenleaf pay tribute to members who have passed away during a recent Auburn ceremony.

Long Island Region officers and activists attend a Workers Memorial Day ceremony in Hauppauge. From left, Long Island Region 1st Vice President Jarvis T. Brown, Region Executive Vice President John Shepherd and Region Treasurer Barbara Homburger. Shepherd spoke on behalf of Region President Jerry Laricchiuta, who was unable to attend. He paid tribute to CSEA member Henry Owens, who died while on the job at Sanitary District No. 1.

Cayuga County Local President Tom Gabak, left, listens as Central Region Safety and Health Committee Chair Tom Hingher reads the names of fallen workers. Between them is a tree planted as a living memorial to those who have died on the job.

Henry Owens, Nassau Municipal Employees Local member, who passed away July 25, 2021.

Robin P. Alvarez, Duchess Educational Employees Local member, who passed away March 8, 2022.


About Author

Editorial Staff

Comments are closed.