Get My Member ID
Contact Us

2023 Local Government Elections

This year is a local government election year. You won’t see candidates on the ballot running for president, governor or other state or federal offices.

Which elected offices are on the ballot?

This year, voters will elect candidates to county, city, town and village offices. These elected leaders make important policy and budgetary decisions that directly impact your quality of life every day.


Use this link to check.

Use this link to register online to vote.

Use this link to request a voter registration form be mailed to you.

For more information, call:
1-800-FOR-VOTE (1-800-367-8683).


Important 2023 Dates

November 7 General Election Day

To learn more or get involved, contact your region’s Political Action Coordinator. Contact information is below.

CSEA Endorsed Statwide Ballot Measures

New Yorkers will vote on two statewide ballot measures in this year’s General Election. See below for a summary of each one.

New Yorkers will vote on two statewide ballot measures in this year’s General Election. Click here for a summary of each one.

Proposal 1: Remove the Debt Limit for Small City School Districts
CSEA Position: Support

This ballot measure would remove the 5% cap on debt limits for small city school districts, defined as districts in cities with fewer than
125,000 residents, are subject to a cap on borrowing for school capital projects not to exceed 5% of taxable real property within the district. All other school districts are subject to a 10% cap.

This ballot measure would remove the 5% cap and subject the small city school districts to the same 10% cap of other districts. CSEA represents members employed at more than 30 small city school districts, which equally deserve high-quality high-quality infrastructure and facilities.

Proposal 2: Exclusion of Sewer Debt From Debt Limits
CSEA Position: Support

For 50 years, sewer debts have been excluded from the constitutional debt limits of municipalities to allow them to issue debt for sewer facilities without limiting their ability to pay for other capital improvements. This ballot measure extends the exemption until 2034; this continued exemption would allow funding to maintain and improve municipal infrastructure. Thousands of CSEA members across the state provide infrastructure services.

Click here for more information

Local Government Endorsements

Long Island Region 1

No endorsements at this time. Check back for updates!

Metropolitan Region 2

Melinda Katz –District Attorney


Kevin Riley – Council Seat 12 

Mercedes Narcisse – Council Seat 46 

Southern Region 3

Click on links to see your county:

Dutchess County
Sue Serino – Dutchess County Executive

Town of Wappinger
Joseph Cavaccini – Town Supervisor

Town of New Windsor
Stephen Bedetti – Town Supervisor

City of Kingston
Steve Noble – Mayor
Sara Pasti – Alderperson, Ward 1
Jeanne Edwards – Alderperson, Ward 4

Westchester County
Terry Clements – County Legislature

City of Yonkers
Mike Spano – Mayor

Capital Region 4

Town of Colonie
Peter Crummey – Town Supervisor
Julie Gansle – Town Clerk

Central Region 5

No endorsements at this time. Check back for updates!

Western Region 6

Click on links to see your county:

Chautauqua County Legislature
Bob Bankoski – County Legislature 2
Susan Parker – County Legislature 4
Terry Niebel – County Legislature 5
Frederick Larson – County Legislature 12

City of Jamestown
Eddie Sundquist – Jamestown Mayor

Erie County
Mark Poloncarz – Erie County Executive
April Baskin – County Legislature 2
Mike Kooshoian – County Legislature 3
John Bargnesi – County Legislature 4
Tim Meyers – County Legislature 7
John Gilmour – County Legislature 9
Deb Seeber – County Legislature 10

Town of Amherst
Angela Marinucci – Amherst Town Council
Mike Szukala – Amherst Town Council

City of Buffalo
Leah Halton-Pope –  Buffalo Common Council (Ellicott)
Zeneta Everhart – Buffalo Common Council (Masten)

Town of Cheektowaga
Brian Nowak – Cheektowaga Supervisor
Darryl Stachura – Cheektowaga Highway Superintendent

Town of Hamburg
Dan Kozub – Hamburg Town Board
Frank Bogulski – Hamburg Town Board

Town of Tonawanda
Carl Szarek – Tonawanda Town Council

Town of West Seneca
Molly Martin – West Seneca Town Clerk
Scott Robertson – West Seneca Town Council

Monroe County
Adam Bello – Monroe County Executive
Marv Stepherson – County Legislature 3
Terry Daniele – County Legislature 5
Mel Callan – County Legislature 9
Howard Maffucci – County Legislature 10
John Baynes – County Legislature 11
Mike Yudelson – County Legislature 12
Susan Hughes-Smith – County Legislature 14
Dave Long – County Legislature 16
Lystra McCoy – County Legislature 18
Tom Sinclair – County Legislature 19
Mercedes Vazquez-Simmons – County Legislature 22
Linda Hasman – County Legislature 23
Carolyn Delvecchio Hoffman – County Legislature 25
Yversha Roman – County Legislature 26
Rose Bonnick – County Legislature 27
Ricky Frazier – County Legislature 28
William Burgess – County Legislature 29

Niagara County
Christopher McKimmie – County Legislature 3
Jeffery Elder – County Legislature 4
Carla Speranza – County Legislature 12

City of Lockport
Tara Clayton – Lockport Common Council
Kathryn Fogle – Lockport Common Council
Somers Sherman – Lockport Common Council
Luke Kantor – Lockport Common Council

City of North Tonawanda
Joseph Lavey Jr. – North Tonawanda City Council
Frank DiBernardo – North Tonawanda City Council
Joseph Marranca – North Tonawanda City Council

Political Action Coordinators

Contact your region’s coordinator:

Long Island Region 1:
Sue Castle, Coordinator
(631) 462 – 0030

Metropolitan Region 2:
Matthew D’Amico, Coordinator
(212) 406 – 2156

Southern Region 3:
Chris Ludlow, Coordinator
(845) 831 – 1000

Capital Region 4:
Bryan Gorman, Coordinator
(518) 782 – 4400

Central Region 5:
Josh Schick, Coordinator
(315) 433 – 0050

Western Region 6:
Chris Rackl, Coordinator
(716) 691 – 6555